Run day Monday: Shatti Al Qurum bike-run-swim

Shatti Al Qurum bike – run – swim: run 6.5km

Shatti Al Qurum bike run swimMap courtesy of Mappedometer.com. Route 522054.

And lo, it came to pass that the Parrot did become totally addicted to running on the beach. Indeed, once she found a house in a quiet neighbourhood a good half hour walk away, she fired up the trusty Bicycle and cycled to beaches just so she could run on them. And then… she realised that nothing cooleth one down so much after a great run in ridiculously high temperatures than jumping in the handy sea fully clad so that the damp clothes would keepeth one cool on the cycle ride home. And thusly… a triathlon dream was born.

Idyllic island

Idyllic island

Alright, that’s going a bit far. I’m in greatly diminished running form now that I work til 9pm and the heat is over 36° by the time I get up in the morning. I’m now down to one or two 4 – 5km runs a week. If any readers have tips for running in hot climates, please share them here.

The route that I run most frequently includes last month’s run at low tide as it’s easy to cross the river outlet in front of the British embassy and join Qurum beach to Al Khuwair beach. For a good all-round workout, cycle to shatti al Qurum and tie your bike to a lampost. If you like barefoot beach running you can leave your shoes and socks there, too. I’ve had many curious stares but no thefts!

Run across the grass bank to the beach and run to the right. In the mornings during the week the beach is virtually empty and a great run. In the evenings you’ll have to dodge families and beach football matches, but all beach users are accustomed to runners.

At the end of the beach is a cafe and a circular balustrade which juts into the sea. At the lowest tide you can run around the balustrade and continue, otherwise turn back at this point and run back down the beach, cross through the river between the British and Indian embassies, and continue running on the next beach. After a similar distance you’ll reach signs demarcating private land. This is the return point.

To do 6km, run back and stop before the river. This beach is often quieter so you can leave any non-soakables (watch, phone, specs) and jump in the sea with nary a soul in sight. However, even on the busier beach I’ve merrily dumped all my belongings on the grass and no one has touched them.

A word on culture: this is a tourist / western beach so bikinis and speedos are a common sight. Personally, I’m starting to adapt to the ‘jump in with all your clothes on’ model which is overwhelmingly popular not only here, but also in the other countries I’ve lived in over the past five years. This also makes sense here as the UV index is high to extreme (9 – 12) between the hours of 10am and 5pm. A final benefit: if you’re cycling home is it certainly keeps you cooler on the return journey!

How do you keep up your cool runnings in a hot hot spell?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Angie
    May 25, 2016 @ 21:51:26

    A few years back I went to Costa Rica and attempted running. I had to go early and never sweat so much in my life due to the heat and humidity. I have no advice for running in the heat as I don’t often have to deal with heat like that! I do like the idea of jumping in the water fully clad. I’ve done that on runs before and it feels quite nice to run back all cool.

    Like

    Reply

    • Pieces of 8
      May 26, 2016 @ 10:39:04

      Yes, I’m a huge fan of swimming-with-all-your-togs-on nowadays. I’m also continually amazed at how heat affects me when I run. A couple of degrees hotter or cooler can have quite an impact.

      Like

      Reply

  2. nikki
    May 23, 2016 @ 18:33:17

    Hey there lady! Tria what! Can’t believe you not fit like Cuban chicas by now with all that exercise. Lovely as always to hear from you xxx

    Like

    Reply

    • Pieces of 8
      May 26, 2016 @ 10:36:59

      I’ve been sadly slacking since December what with one move and another. However, I just made a new salsa buddy at work, so I’ll have my dancing feet back in action now! Maybe that’ll strengthen my knees so I can get my running feet back in action, too!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Feathered friends

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 151 other followers

