Six Things Sunday!

I’ve been storing up amusing pictures from signs and packaging and it seemed like a good time to release them into the blogosphere. I’ll be eternally gutted that in all the time I spent in South America I failed to take a single photo of entire supermarket aisles of tinned fish labelled, “Fanny”. The level of juvenile hilarity in that one will probably be more obvious to English rather than American readers, but I laughed every time I went shopping for the three years I was there.

I also failed to snap the brand of cracker named, inexplicably, “Kraps.” However, I did capture this little beauty –

P1020422I’m not sure if I’ve made it clear before that I have the sense of humour of a five-year-old who’s just discovered that references to poo make the grown-ups giggle. For those who know me, that’s no newsflash.

Continuing with toilet humour quite literally,

Don't try this at home, folks

Don’t try this at home, folks

here is an amusing sign that Wonderboy snapped on his brief stint in Japan. It only heightens my desire to go there. I am aware that not every country thinks that the upright toilet is the way to go, and that’s fine by me. I’d like to think that I’m culturally well-travelled in the bathroom department. I’ve used a hole dug over a pit in the ground surrounded by thin fencing where I was instructed to take a big stick in with me to fend off curious pigs (north Thailand). I’ve used numerous fly filled tin-can dunnies which were only a little more structured (Australian outback). I’ve used wooden blocks suspended over a hole in the bottom of a boat with the sea rushing underneath (south Thailand). I’ve used the semi-upright squat-on-the-rim affairs which flush from a tub with a bucket (all across South-East Asia) actually, they are pretty civilised and very effective. Apart from the European holes-in-the-floor, which I personally don’t enjoy much as I find there’s no provision for avoiding troublesome splashback on the feet – and sometimes trouser-legs, I think I’ve been able to work out how to use every variation of effluence receptacle I’ve encountered, so I’m baffled as to why this nature of explanatory illustration is needed. If anyone can enlighten me, I’d be grateful.

Don't mind if I do

Don’t mind if I do

Sticking with bodily functions, this little gem tickled us today. Insert a couple of extra exclamation marks and you have one of the best sequences of imperatives known to humanity.

Thanks Coca Cola Company!

This next sign hangs over the exit of the local Lotteria – a Korean burger chain. I’m sure it’s real purpose is to alert eager customers to the possibility of a slipping hazard should they run joyfully off clutching their prized burger-and-fries in a bag, but to me it just says, “flatulence alert.”

Not only the cows are a menace to the environment

Not only the cows are a menace to the environment

As well as those signs which cause unintended amusement, there are those which are perfectly straight-down-the-line, but which I find alien and unusual. Things that remind me I’m far from home and things work differently around here. I’m not the first person to suggest that, in my circles at least, we’ve become somewhat distant from what food is and where it comes from. Chicken comes in plucked, washed and cleaned packets of breasts or legs, sometimes even skinned and boned, straight from the shelves. I once felt adventurous and tried to clean and gut fish straight from the catch of the day. That won’t happen again. I became quite partial to tacos con tripas (tripe) in Mexico. Chopped up tiny and fried to a tasty crisp, covered in lemon and salsa, I could forget what they were. Rachis in Peru were a little too tubular and wobbly for me to accept as a tasty side dish with my anticuchos (beef-heart kebabs). But at least all the signs seemed foreign enough as they were in Spanish. So the sign over the establishment below was snap-worthy for its directness.

Does exactly what it says on the tin

Does exactly what it says on the tin

Finally, there are the signs that are intentionally humorous and witty, so I’d like to leave you with the offering below.

Ho Lee Chow, Batman!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cabrogal
    Feb 23, 2014 @ 14:05:37

    You haven’t really been until you’ve used a Goan pig toilet. The hot breath of the hogs on your nether regions as they await the delivery of their dinner really helps get the old digestive system moving. And those spicy Goan pork sausages are so delicious. That’s what I call recycling.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Feathered friends

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 152 other followers

