Three Things…

…that you can see on a run along the north shore of the Han river.

Seongsan-ro Bridge

Seongsan-ro Bridge

Yanghwa-ro bridge

새해복많이바드세요 or happy lunar new year to all. And what better way to see in the year of the horse than a nice slow paced jog along the river Han, where every family within walking distance were out taking in the pink glow of a winter afternoon. Some were in jogging gear, more were looking very athletically togged-up in lycra on zippy bikes, many more were bundled up to the eyeballs against the chill and out for a stroll, or in some cases a power-walk.

Lunar new year is a big holiday here and the streets are virtually empty. There isn’t total shut-down in my neck of the woods, but it has definitely been a day for reading, watching films, playing cards, baking bread (go Wonderboy – we don’t even have an oven and he still made something beautiful) and of course, blogging.

Now that I run with an app that talks to me from the recesses of my pockets at regular intervals, I have a different outlook on achievement. Usually, I’m trying to beat the watch on my wrist and run a trusted route in a faster time. Today the woman in my pocket informed me I’d been running for 20 minutes when I reached my usual turnaround point, and I decided it was a day for seeing where I’d get to by 30 minutes before turning back for home. Where I got was achy knees, but some nice photos and a sense of healthy, glowing achievement.

Start as you mean to go on!

Seogang bridge

Seogang bridge

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pieces of 8
    Feb 28, 2014 @ 12:42:57

    Reblogged this on The Parrot on the Power lines and commented:
    Hell yeah!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Steph
    Feb 28, 2014 @ 05:49:36

    Beautiful pics!!!! Would you lend me a blanket and a corner on the floor if I ever decide I must see these places (and try this food) by myself? 😀

    Like

    Reply

  3. backpackerlee
    Feb 01, 2014 @ 07:41:30

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Feathered friends

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 151 other followers

