Very Inspiring Blogger Award

The Award

They say it’s not quantity, but quality that counts. I surely hope so as I have definitely not been a prolific producer of posts this year. Fortunately, just when I needed a boot in the rear to up productivity somewhat, along came Catriona, who is Crazy, to give me one in the form of the Very Inspiring Blogger Award.

I’ve been following Catriona’s online brand of crazy with added rainbow shit and penis socks for a while now, whenever I need a dose of LOL in my life. I recommend you do, too, although if the blogosphere were HMV, this blog would have a Parental Advisory sticker on it. Just sayin’.

The Rules

  1. Display the award logo on your blog.
  2. Link back to the person who nominated you.
  3. State 7 things about yourself.
  4. Nominate 15 bloggers.
  5. Notify these bloggers of the nomination and the rules.

The Statements

1. Laptops are the greatest development in technology because we all have all our best ideas in the Smallest Room in the house. It was mighty impractical to bring a desktop computer in here to write. Now I am much more comfortable. Don’t think on this one too much, readers.

2. Children should be kept in boxes and released at 18. This would work well both ways as all the children I know (my students) say that they crave the day when all the information they currently attend school for can just be pumped into their brains by a tube, leaving them free to play on their Playstations. So bring on the boxes with Playstations and brain-pumping-info-tubes in, and we can scrap the 9pm watershed, radio edits of songs, and monitoring our language for appropriateness.

3. A great bed is worth every sacrifice you make for it as it will never let you down.

4. There is a place for people who speak in platitudes and quote people like Ghandi. They do actually make the world a better place, much as my Grumpycat nature wishes to deny this fact.

5. Everything you think you know is wrong. And everything that you find out that you think is righter than everything you thought you knew is also wrong. But sugar is bad, that one was right all along. Damnit.

6. The best way to travel long distance is by bus and, where possible, by boat. The best way to travel short distances is by bike.

7. Perhaps it’s being English, but I love weather. All of it. Except for drizzle, which is too half-arsed to even count as a weather type.

Nectar for your brains: The Very Inspiring Bloggers

Blogs about travel

1. Emily Luxton

This is my favourite recent discovery – a really inspiring blog written by a fellow traveller aiming at her dreams. As well as being beautifully presented (she’s a photographer, too) her posts are regular, entertaining and she’s achieved the ‘diverse but focused’ balance perfectly. The presentation, organisation and quality – visual and written – of Emily’s work is truly inspiring.

2. Cristin’s Adventures

I’ve followed Cristin’s fascinating and hugely extensive adventures – in terms of geography and life in general – since she was here in Latin America. A very honest and open journal of where she is in the world and what she’s up to, with some instructive information on various visa traumas, nice couchsurfing experiences and the hunt for a job and a home.

3. Notes of Nomads

Written by a professional travel writer and a professional photographer, this looks and reads brilliantly. I am delving into it avidly in preparation for my relocation to Asia in the next six months.

4. Bucket List Publications

The blog of a woman whose mission is to live life to the full. When I was 25, I wrote a list of ten things I wanted to do before I was 30. I didn’t manage many of those things. She writes a huge list of things she wants to do each year, and achieves a large number of them. And writes about it. This blog makes my eyes bulge with envy and my scalp tingle with excitement.

5. A Word in your Ear

Another traveller, more wonderful images. Enjoy.

Blogs about various interesting things

6. Cassandra Parkin

I stumbled across this blog while looking up ‘crap towns’ and ‘Hull’ to explain to someone from the USA why Hull is so bad. I spent over two hours browsing through Cassandra’s accounts of her cats – which I promptly emailed to every cat person I know – her range of ‘Great moments in retailing’, and a review of the Game of Thrones series which was so compelling I instantly downloaded all five books and the first three TV series. Which I am loving.

7. Early Retired and Happy Person

What can I say – I just this year started contributing to a pension scheme so I’m interested in the options I’ll have when that’s all I have to live on. And from this blog, it looks like there’s a lot to look forward to, including cats, gardens, tennis, cakes and some wicked chilies.

It also features cats. Hell – it appears that’s what the wonder that is the World Wide Web was created for after all. That and ‘Charlie bit my finger’.

8. Three Hundred Sixty-Five

I stumbled across this blog when the posts were still in the late 100s. Now she’s on day 342 and I don’t know what I’m going to when the year is up and I don’t have a bit of daily interest and wisdom to chew over. I recommend you get your arses on over there to catch the last twenty days or so of the Post-A-Day challenge.

9. Leanne Cole Photography

Pure eye candy. A regular stream of the most beautiful and lush images. I came across this blog around Christmas time, when a slew of photographs of tea shops and holly wreaths captured my attention. Since then architecture and, more recently, portraits have attracted me back on a regular basis. It’s a great blog if you are really into photography, or if you have eyes.

10. The Solipsist

In accordance with my love of Mexico, all things Mexican (except drug war violence and cartels) and particularly the central area from Queretaro to Guadalajara and around, this blog fills my soul with Mexican joy through personal stories and lovely photography. Sadly, he hasn’t written much for a while, but I recommend that you go and check out the extensive archives.

11. The Mex Files

Perhaps you see a theme here? This blog posts on a wide variety of Mexican issues: contemporary news, views and events, history and a lot of politics and commentary. Interesting stuff.

12. The Cafe Bonbon

It has cakes at the top. What more do I need to tell you? Read it.

13. My Bohemia Heart

Beautiful things that you can do to your house, or just look at and go ‘aaaahhh’. If all of the people in Leanne Cole’s portraits lived in houses and were surrounded by the objects in this blog, the world would die of an overdose of sumptuous beauty.

14. myfatherlostmetothebeastatcards

A growing poetry blog which I stumbled across when trying to work out the connection between a good friend and a famous cricketer. Even if you don’t like poetry, you’ll like this.

15. jennovafoodblog

Relating to the above statement about the wrongness of sugar, this blog – as well as having a lot of writing about travelling, trips and climbing, all of which looks like the kind of fun I would like to have if I weren’t so lazy – manages to contain a lot of information that looks quite technical about food and nutrition, but which is actually very readable and interesting. Try it. You might like it!

Happy reading, folks.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cristin's Adventures
    Jul 17, 2013 @ 03:39:09

    Thank you so much for the nomination 😉 I love your blog as well! I am in Varna, Bulgaria right now and there have been some wifi and also electrical issues here, so I am working on this post 😉 When do I need to have it completed by and how do I insert this logo on my page? Thanks so much for your help 😉

    Like

    Reply

    • Pieces of 8
      Jul 20, 2013 @ 17:41:45

      Hi Cristin! I get your internet issues; I’m currently on a couple of weeks of internal holidays in Peru and having the same issues. The good news is there is no time limit on your acceptance blog – an award is for life, not just for a few days! To post the image I just copy/pasted it and it worked fine.

      Happy travels and happy blogging!

      Like

      Reply

  2. englishnowperu
    Jul 17, 2013 @ 00:34:03

    This is brilliant writing. It is a genuine pleasure to read. Keep up the good work.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Leanne Cole
    Jul 14, 2013 @ 22:40:38

    I love that about kids, I used to wish they would be taken away at birth and given back to us when they were grown up. I also love the first one, but I won’t think too much about it. Congratulations on getting your award and thank you so much for nominating me as well.

    Like

    Reply

  4. White Pearl
    Jul 14, 2013 @ 19:29:35

    wow lovely ! You deserved it ! Congrats 🙂 xx

    Like

    Reply

  5. fransiweinstein
    Jul 14, 2013 @ 19:09:22

    Thanks so much! Glad you like my blog. I am planning on continuing after the 365 days are up. Maybe not everyday. Not sure about that yet. So you’re still stuck with me.

    Like

    Reply

    • Pieces of 8
      Jul 14, 2013 @ 19:12:10

      I’m glad to hear it, and very relieved! I forgot to mention that another reason I nominated your blog is for the amount of support that you give to all other bloggers. I know the energy and time it takes to respond to every comment, and I am impressed by your dedication to support the community.

      Like

      Reply

      • fransiweinstein
        Jul 14, 2013 @ 19:16:41

        Thank you! I think everyone needs, and deserves, support and encouragement. God knows I get more than my fair share of it. Besides, there are so many talented people here, on WordPress it really blows me away. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

Feathered friends

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 152 other followers

