My recent guest post on ESL Hell.

ESL Hell

I’m in my second year of teaching experience. With a career change in mind and a CELTA in hand I decided to make a go of life in Latin America.

Before I even got that far, I’d had to contend with CELTA vs CertTESOL vs TEFL. Which to choose? What did they mean? Which one was the best? I did my research and realised that the CELTA and CertTESOL were roughly equally highly regarded, and certainly the only two certificates worth the twin investment of time and money. The differences between the two are minimal, or so I understand.  CELTA (Certificate in Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages) is the TEFL certificate offered by the University of Cambridge. CertTESOL is accredited by Trinity College, London. Both are respected by employers worldwide. In my case, the CELTA won out based on little other than the fact that there was a…

View original post 979 more words

Leave a Reply

Feathered friends

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 152 other followers

